Charged with DUI in Arkansas and need an aggressive DUI lawyer to represent you? DO NOT attempt to defend your drunk driving case alone. Our attorneys will investigate all aspects of your case and explore ALL possible defenses to your DUI charge. At Moffitt & Phillips we are PREPARED to take your case to trial and WIN. Our DUI attorneys believe in aggressive representation when it comes to fighting your DUI charge. If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI in Arkansas, you can count on Moffitt & Phillips to DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS.
*Please note, if you are 21 or over you are not considered “underage” under Arkansas law and therefore you cannot be charged with DUI. If you are over 21, then the appropriate charge is DWI. If you have been charged with DWI, please visit our page dedicated to DWI Penalties in Arkansas.*
DUI Penalties in Arkansas
Ark. Code Ann. § 5-65-304. DUI License Suspension and Revocation
1. If you are arrested for DUI, the arresting law enforcement officer will seize the drivers license of the underage person arrested for DUI and issue a temporary driving permit.
2. The Office of Driver Services will suspend or revoke your driving privileges if you arrested for DUI. You will have a right to hearing and judicial review, but your license may be suspended before you even go to your first appearance on the DUI. You have to request a hearing on the suspension of your license within seven (7) days of the arrest for DUI.
3. The Office of Driver Services will likely suspend your license as follows: (A) Suspension for ninety (90) days for the first offense of violating § 5-65-303; (B) Suspension for one (1) year for the second offense of violating § 5-65-303; or (C) Revocation for three (3) years or until the underage person reaches twenty-one (21) years of age for the third or subsequent offense of violating § 5-65-303 occurring while the person is underage.
Ark. Code Ann. § 5-65-305. Fines for DUI in Arkansas
If you plead guilty or “no contest” or is found guilty of DUI, you will be fined:
(1) No less than one hundred dollars ($100) and not more than five hundred dollars ($500) for the first offense;
(2) No less than two hundred dollars ($200) and not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for the second offense occurring underage; and
(3) No less than five hundred dollars ($500) and not more than two thousand dollars ($2,000) for the third or subsequent offense occurring underage.
Ark. Code Ann. § 5-65-306. Public service for DUI in Arkansas
If you plead guilty or “no contest” or you are found guilty of DUI, the judge is required to impose public service. If you are convicted of a second offense DUI, the judge must impose no less than thirty (30) days public service. If it is a third or subsequent offense. the judge must impose no less than sixty (60) days public service.
Ark. Code. Ann. § 5-65-307. Alcohol and driving education program for DUI
Any person who has their driving privileges suspended, revoked, or denied for DUI, is required to complete an alcohol and driving education program for underage drivers before their driving privileges can be reinstated (unless you are acquitted of the DUI charge).
Should I Hire a DUI Lawyer?
DO NOT attempt to defend your drunk driving case alone. A DUI charge has long-term financial and criminal history ramifications and you need an experienced DUI lawyer to evaluate your case before you take any action. The DUI lawyers at Moffitt & Phillips believe in aggressive representation when it comes to fighting your DUI charge.
What are the Benefits of Hiring a DUI Lawyer?
- A DUI lawyer can explain the law to you and guide you through all court proceedings.
- A DUI lawyer may be able to save you money by obtaining a dismissal of other traffic or criminal charges that originated with the DUI charge.
- A DUI lawyer knows what evidence is required for a conviction of DUI and knows how to suppress key evidence in your case if it was improperly obtained by the police.
- A DUI lawyer knows expert witnesses that can be retained to offer testimony in your defense.
- The Prosecutor and Police are a powerful team with only one goal: convicting you of DUI. You need a DUI lawyer by your side to protect your rights and give you the best chance at beating your DUI charge.
Call Moffitt & Phillips now to speak with an experienced DUI lawyer that will fight to WIN your case. We offer a free telephone consultation. Call (501) 255-7406 TODAY!
Contact an Arkansas DUI attorney